Skip to main content
Get Updates!
December 22, 2017

Texas Candidates Start Submitting Names in for the Primary Ballot

On December 11th, candidates in Texas made it official by submitting their names to be put on the March 6th primary ballot. A look at the candidate list indicates a possibly drastic changing political landscape after 2018. Eight of 36 members of the Texas Congressional House Delegation will retire leaving their seat open to long lists of candidates ready to take their seat. This list includes Republicans Jeb Hensarling of Dallas, Lamar Smith of San Antonio, Ted Poe of Houston, Sam Johnson of Richardson, Joe Barton of Ennis, and Blake Farenthold of Corpus Christi and Democrats Gene Green of Houston and Beto O’Rourke of El Paso. U.S. Rep Beto O’Rourke is giving up his seat to challenge Senator Ted Cruz and leading an energized Senate campaign.

Who makes up the TX State House and Senate will help determine items of great significance. Aside from state legislation, the State Legislature will determine who gets chosen to be Speaker of House amidst current Speaker Joe Strauss’ retirement announcement in 2019 and how Texas will be redistricted in 2020 after the census.    
On December 11th precinct chairs also submitted their intent. Emgage TX recruited over a dozen precinct chairs to serve 2 year terms.